Belgium Public Holidays

Spread the love

Belgium Holidays

Belgium is a European country where four main languages are spoken, and these are Dutch, French, German and Flemish. The Belgium Calendar contains official public holidays where workers should get a break from work, and non-official public holidays where it’s not mandatory for employers to give employees a holiday break.

The following are the official public holidays:

New Year

The year begins with New Year’s Day on the 1st of January also known as Neujahr in German, Nouvel An in French and Nieuwjaar in Flemish


The Easter holiday usually begins in the month of March or April. The date changes each year according to the Christian calendar. This is month to commemorate the crucifixion of Jesus Christ and his subsequent resurrection on the following Sunday morning. The holiday is known as Pasen Ostern in German, Paques in French and Pasen in Flemish.

Easter Monday

This is the last day of the 4-day Easter holiday which comes after Easter Sunday. The date is dependent on the Christian calendar for that year. This holiday is known as Ostermontag in German, Lundi de Paques in French and Paasmaandag in Flemish.

Labor Day

This is a day to acknowledge the services of laborers and their contribution to the economy and society. Held on the 1st of May, this holiday is called Tag der Arbeit in German, Fete du in French and Dag van de arbeid in Flemish.


Ascension Day

This holiday comes 39 days after Easter Sunday. It is a Christian holiday to commemorate the return of Christ to heaven. Jesus returned to his Father in heaven as his mission on earth to die for the sins of men had been finished. The holiday is known as Christi Himmelfahrt in German, Ascension in French and Onze Lieve Heer hemelvaart in Flemish.



The day of Pentecost comes 49 days from the end of Easter Sunday. On this day, Christians commemorate the coming of the Holy Ghost upon Jesus’ disciples. This event is known as Pfingsten in German, Pentecote in French and Pinksteren in Flemish.

Pentecost Monday

This is the next day or the holiday after Pentecost. It is known as Pfingstmontag in German, Lundi de Pentecote in French and Pinkstermaandag in Flemish

National Holiday. The National Holiday of Belgium is held on the 21st of July each year. They call it Nationalfeiertag in German, Fête nationale in French and Nationale feestdag in Flemish.

Assumption of Mary. This is a Christian holiday held on the 15th of August. It is known as Maria Himmelfahrt in German,Assomption in French and Onze Lieve Vrouw hemelvaart in Flemish.

All Saints Day. This holiday is celebrated in the Western and Eastern Christian calendars. On this day of 1 November, the Eastern Christians celebrate all the dead saints. The Western Christians celebrate all the dead souls who have been admitted to heaven. This holiday is known as Allerheiligen in German, Toussaint in French and Allerheiligen in Flemish.

Armistice Day

This holiday is celebrated on the 11th of November. It is known as Waffenstillstand in German, Jour de l’armistice in French and Wapenstilstand in Flemish – Belgische feestdag.

Christmas Day.The Belgium Calendar ends the year with the widely celebrated Christmas Day. Christians all around the world gather at home to celebrate the birth of the Son of God. Christmas Day is on 25 December every year. The German-speaking natives called it Wihnacht, the French call it Noel and the Flemish call it Kerstmis.


The non-official public holidays on the Belgium Calendar are as follows:

Epiphany: This is a holiday celebrated on 6 January. It is a Christian holiday for the Eastern and Western churches. The Germans call it Erscheinung des Herrn.The French call it Epiphanie and the Flemish call it Driekoningen.

Valentines Day: This is a Western holiday where lovers all around the world express love for each other. On 14 February, lovers express love for each other by exchanging gifts. It is called Valentinstag in German, Saint-Valentin in French and Valentijnsdag in Flemish.


Iris Day

This is a regional holiday observed in Brussels on 8 May. It is known as Fête de l’Iris in French and Feest van de Iris in Flemish.

Flemish Community Day

The Day of the Flemish Community also known as Feest van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap in Flemish is held on 11 July. This holiday is observed by the Flemish people in Belgium.

French Community Day

The Day of the French Community also known as Fête de la Communauté française de Belgique in French is observed on 27 September. This holiday is celebrated by the French people in Belgium.

Walloon Day

The people in the region of Walloon in Belgium celebrate the Day of the Walloon Region. This holiday is held in the month of September every third Sunday. The German locals call it Tag der Wallonische Region and the French locals call it Fete de la Region wallonne.


All Soul’s Day: This is a Christian holiday observed by Catholics and Anglicans. It is a day of prayer for those in hell. It is called Allerseelen in German, Fête des morts in French and Allerzielen in Flemish.

German Community Day: The Day of the German Community also known as Tag der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens is celebrated on 15 November. This holiday is observed by the German-speaking people in Belgium.

King’s Feast: The next non-official holiday is the King’s Feast, which is celebrated on 15 November. It is known as Festtag des Konigs in German, Fête du Roi in French and koningsdag in Flemish. This is a national holiday observed by all regions and administrations in the country.

Saint Nicholas Day: The last holiday on the non-official Belgium Calendar is Saint Nicholas Day, which is celebrated on 6 December. It is known as Sankt Nikolaus in German, Saint-Nicolas fete in French, and Sinterklaas in Flemish.


Spread the love
READ  Bulgaria Public Holidays